February Programming Highlights

| February 01, 2018 | |

Autopsy: The Last Hours of…
Season 3 Series Premiere February 11

This hit documentary series reveals the truth behind the deaths of celebrities. Based on crucial medical evidence from the actual autopsy and interviews with friends, family and experts, each episode reconstructs the final hours and sheds light on the events that led to the celebrity’s death. New hour-long episodes focus on James Dean, Elizabeth Taylor, David Bowie, Lou Reed, Muhammad Ali, Miles Davis, James Brown, Marvin Gaye, Andy Warhol, Cass Elliot aka “Mama Cass”, Andy Kaufman, Farrah Fawcett, Mindy McCready, Johnny Cash, George Harrison, George Michael, Gram Parsons, Barry White, Mary Tyler Moore and James Gandolfini. https://www.reelz.com/autopsy/

Price of Fame
Series Premiere February 11

The road to stardom is often paved with amazing and devastating public and private events. In hour-long episodes of this new series, viewers will see the heartfelt stories of Shania Twain, Johnny Depp, Carrie Fisher, Patrick Swayze, Prince and Robin Williams. Whether it’s turbulent family drama, harrowing substance abuse, outlandish spending habits or a combination of those and more, these celebrities all paid a hefty price for their fame. https://www.reelz.com/the-price-of-fame/



BEGINNING FEBRUARY 26, 2018: A Second Season of C-SPAN’s Special History Series: Landmark Cases: Historic Supreme Court Decisions. The 12-part feature series will be produced in partnership with the National Constitution Center and will air on Mondays at 9 p.m. ET/ 8 p.m. CT.

C-SPAN begins on February 26, 2018, a second season of Landmark Cases. Produced in partnership with the National Constitution Center, the series, which debuted in the fall of 2015, explores the issues, people, and places involved in some of the most historically significant Supreme Court cases in our nation’s history.
The 90-minute programs will air live on C-SPAN and C-SPAN3 and C-SPAN Radio on Monday nights at 9 p.m. ET/8 p.m. CT, beginning February 26.
Using the public affairs TV network’s signature live format of noted legal historians, constitutional scholars, and preeminent lawyers interspersed with visits to historic sites for context, the series explores the stories of historic rulings which changed American society, the plaintiffs who sparked these cases and the justices and lawyers who were key to the Supreme Court’s review. All of the programs will be interactive via viewer phone calls and social posts.
A video-rich website www.c-span.org/landmarkcases will offer both seasons on-demand along with classroom materials including the National Constitution Center’s Interactive Constitution which brings top constitutional experts together to explore areas of agreement and disagreement about the text and history of the Constitution.
The 12 cases selected for season two are:
  • McCulloch v. Maryland (1819) – Congress’ Powers (Feb. 26)
  • The Civil Rights Cases (1883) — Civil Rights Enforcement | 13th & 14th Amendments (March 5)
  • Yick Wo v. Hopkins (1886) — Racial Discrimination | 14th Amendment (March 12)
  • Plessy v. Ferguson (1896) – Equal Protection – Racial Discrimination | 14th Amendment (March 19)
  • Gideon v. Wainwright (1963) – Right to Counsel | 6th Amendment (March 26)
  • Griswold v. Connecticut (1965) – Right to Privacy | 14th Amendment (April 2)
  • Katz v. United States (1967) — Search and Seizure | 4th Amendment (April 9)
  • Brandenburg v. Ohio (1969) – Freedom of speech | 1st Amendment (April 16)
  • Tinker v. Des Moines (1969) – Freedom of speech | 1st Amendment (April 23)
  • New York Times v. United States (Pentagon Papers Case) (1971) – Freedom of the Press | 1st Amendment (April 30)
  • Gregg v. Georgia (1976) – Death Penalty | 8th & 14th Amendments (May 7)
  • Regents of Univ. Cal v. Bakke (1978) – Affirmative Action | 14th Amendment (May 14)

Authoritative Supreme Court reporter Tony Mauro is writing a companion volume as he did in 2015. The new book features brief introductions to the backgrounds, highlights, and impact of the next 12 landmark cases in the C-SPAN series. Published by C-SPAN in cooperation with CQ Press, an imprint of SAGE Publications, Inc., the book once again includes an introduction by National Constitution Center President and CEO Jeffrey Rosen.


Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.